Club NewsFeaturedNewRace Report

Awards and social evening

Originally scheduled for the 1st December, problems with the original venue meant a change of date and caterers for the annual Tuff awards ceremony. With a new date and venue twelve weeks later, huge kudos must go to Mike Barrett & Iris Bennett who worked so hard to ensure the evening could progress. Of course Mike and Iris started work on the details weeks before the original December date, so this has taken up a very considerable amount of their year. Thank you Mike and Iris.

You will see from the photos in the album below there was a lot of signage and information boards as well as a couple of interesting caricatures which really added a touch of class to the evening – for this we have to thank Andy Gomm and Dom Amey – thank you gents.

Dinner was served and then the band played before Mike hosted an “Interview with” – this year James Brock who explained all about his cross channel swim. It was very insightful with Jimbo opening up bravely on the difficulties encountered not just on the night of the swim but also his prior training – Thanks Jimbo.

The last Triathlon season now seems a while ago but we had the championship awards to distribute. With every single award won by seasoned age groupers, there weren’t so many individual awards but congratulations to:-

Champion – Dom Chapman, 2nd, Tom Frith and 3rd Mark Walford. Vet prize – Les Pearce Champion – Maisie Johnson 2nd, Verity Lacey and 3rd Isis Solato. Vet prize = Linda James

Champion – Tom Frith, 2nd Simon Thistlethwaite, 3rd James Togneri Vet prize Les Pearce. Unfortunately whilst there were several Tuff ladies on the seafront their successes came in the Aquathlon or sprint distance

Champion – Danny Cunnett – 2nd Mark Sole Champion – Janet Shepherd (second year running)

Champions – Simon Thistlethwaite, 2nd Mark Walford, 3rd Steve Fryer

Master of ceremony – Mr Mike Barrett masquerading as Mark Walford.

The winner was Adrian Oliver. Fellow nominees on the shortlist were Clare Worgan and Mark Sole

The winner was Simon Thistlethwaite. Fellow nominees on the shortlist Mark Sole, Clare Worgan, Claire Moyle, Sussan Douglas and Vicki Hedger

The winner was Mark Sole Fellow nominees Nick Francis, Dom Amey & Clare Worgan.

The clear winner – with two nominees was Mark Walford who gamely advertised he had run with his cycle helmet and performed a great belly flop at a GB race.

Our winner was Nancy Liddell.

Following a quiz in the format of Ready Steady Cook where tables had to decide by showing a card with red or green triathletes on, a raffle followed. The band then played for a final set and after the bar doing a roaring trade, everyone departed for home with a goody bag.

Thanks to everyone who came along in their posh togs – very classy.

click on the photo for the album below.